29.2 C
Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Related stories

Bayern Munich appoints new sporting director as they embark on an overhaul

Bayern Munich has appointed Max Eberl as their new...

Black Stars’ Richmond Lamptey loses father

Asante Kotoko is mourning the heartbreaking loss of Mr....

Real Madrid case against LaLiga over €2bn CVC deal ends in defeat

A court has rejected a lawsuit brought by Real...

Manchester United open to negotiating sale of Antony

Antony's tenure at Manchester United has fallen short of...
SportsAbedi Pele named as guest of honour for CAF's 'AFCON Victorious Captains'...


Abedi Pele named as guest of honour for CAF’s ‘AFCON Victorious Captains’ Symposium’

Ghanaian football icon Abedi Pele has been named as a special guest for the Confederation of African Football’s (CAF) “AFCON Winning Captains’ Roundtable,” set to occur on Saturday in Abidjan.

This event, planned as part of the buildup to the CAF Africa Cup of Nations (AFCONS) Cote d’Ivoire 2023 final match on Sunday between Côte d’Ivoire and Nigeria, aims to provide a platform for former tournament-winning captains to share their insights and experiences.

- Advertisement -

Scheduled after the Final Matchday-1 press conference, the roundtable is expected to create a unique atmosphere for the media as they prepare for Sunday’s final showdown.

Among the esteemed list of captains attending are notable football figures such as Roger Milla of Cameroon (1988), Gadji Celi of Côte d’Ivoire (1992), Kanu Nwankwo of Nigeria (1994), and others spanning various editions of the tournament.

- Advertisement -

Abedi Pele’s presence as the special guest representing Ghana adds further prestige to the event, highlighting his significant contributions to African football.

Details of the event are as follows:

- Advertisement -
  • Date: Saturday, February 10, 2024
  • Venue: Main Media Centre (Palais de la Culture, Abidjan)
  • Time: 13:00–14:30
  • MCs: Mark Gleeson and Katty Toure
  • Mixed Zone Interviews: 14:30 – 15:00

The “AFCON Winning Captains’ Roundtable” promises to offer valuable insights, providing a retrospective examination of the tournament’s rich history and significance through the perspectives of its esteemed participants.

The list of Captains consists of: 1988: Roger Milla (Cameroon); 1992: Gadji Celi (Côte d’Ivoire); 1994: Kanu Nwankwo (Nigeria); 1996: Neil Tovey (South Africa) & Lucas Radebe (South Africa); 1998: Hossam Hassan (Egypt); 2004: Riadh Bouazizi (Tunisia) 2012: Christopher Katongo (Zambia) 2013: Joseph Yobo (Nigeria) 2017: Benjamin Moukandjo (Cameroon) *Special Guest: Abedi Pelé (Ghana)

Latest stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here